Futuristic Rayalaseema
About Leader
Job Portal
How to apply
  • Rayalaseema -includes the four Southern Districts of Chittor,Anantapur,Kadapa and Kurnool.
  • It's total population of 15,184,908 and covers an area of 67,526 km 2 (26,072 sq mi)
  • Rayalaseema was ruled by the famous king Sri krshna devaraya
  • There are many famous temples in Seema one among them is the world famous temple Tirumala Thirupathi
  • No meal is totally complete without Raagi Sangati in Rayalaseema
  • Sri pothuluri Veerabrahmendra swamy gaari matam is in Kadapa District is an pilgrimage centre in Andhra Pradesh and Veera Brahmendra Swamy wrote Kalagnanam in Kurnool District

Rayalaseema: The land that produced Six Chief Ministers of the state

Rayalaseema literally means the land of royals. It was coined during the Andhra Mahasabha meeting held in the year 1928. The region used to be called as the ‘Ceded districts’ during the British era as it was handed over to the British by the then Nizam’s of Hyderabad. The Nizam ceded the districts to the British as part of the subsidiary alliance struck between the two rulers. However, the residents of Rayalaseema did not like the word Ceded Districts and coined the term Rayalaseema. According to the available facts, a high-level meeting of Andhra leaders under the banner Andhra Mahasabha was held at Nandyal of Kurnool district. The issue of the usage of the term Ceded District was discussed at length in the meeting. A Telugu lecturer and a famous social activist from Anantapur district, Chilukuri Narayana Rao moved the resolution stating that the word ceded was derogatory in nature and amounts to slavery. It also stated that the region consisting of Anantapur, Chittoor, Kadapa and Kurnool and Bellary be referred to as ‘Rayalaseema. Bellary was later merged into neighboring Karnataka state.

The Nizam got the Rayalaseema districts as its share after the Mysore war. However, the Nizam did not want to rule the area and decided to create a buffer with the help of the British rulers. The British readily agreed to the proposal made by the Nizam to bear the expenses of the subsidiary force from the revenue generated earned from the area by them.

The region presently has four districts viz. Kadapa, Kurnool, Anantapur and Chittoor districts. According to the 2011 census report, the total population of Rayalaseema is 1,51,91,144. The four districts of the Rayalaseema are spread across 67,526 km area of the state. The region several famous temples but the most famous among these temples is the Tirumala Tirupathi Devasthanam (TTD), which is located in Chittoor district of Rayalaseema. It is also renowned as the world’s richest temple across the globe. Among the four districts of Rayalaseema, Kadapa can be called as heart of the Rayalaseema as it is centrally located and well connected with the other three districts of Rayalaseema. All the four districts of the region has rich and glorious history. Holy rivers like Penna (Pinakini), Papagni, Chitravati, Mandavya flow through the Kadapa district of the region and is revered a lot by the residents of Rayalaseema.

Kurnool district was once acted as the capital of Andhra State which as formed on October 1,1953. The district is the tenth largest district of the country with a total area of 17,658 sq.km. It is also the 53rd district of the country with the most population. The district has 40,43,463. Anantapur district of Rayalaseema was formed in the year 1882 after its separation from Bellary of Karnataka state. In the year 1956 after the formation of Andhra Pradesh state, the Anantapur district has been divided into 3 Revenue Divisions containing 63 Revenue Mandals. The fourth district of Rayalseema, Chittoor was formed on April 1, 1911, by merging Chittoor, Palamaner, Chandragiri from the then North Arcot District of Tamil Nadu and Madanapalli, Vayalpadu from Cuddapah and Punganur, Sri Kalahasti, Karvetinagaram from Zamindari provinces to form united Chittoor district. The Rayalaseema region has produced six Chief Ministers (CM) of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh state. The names of the Chief Ministers are Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy, Damodaram Sanjeevaiah, Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy, Nara Chandrababu Naidu, YS Rajasekhara Reddy and N. Kiran Kumar Reddy. The current CM of the bifurcated Andhra Pradesh state is Nara Chandrababu Naidu. He also worked as the CM of erstwhile Andhra Pradesh State and created a record as the longest serving CM of the state.